​New Readers Licensed

Next Saturday, two people will be admitted to the office of Reader in a service at the
Cathedral. The service will be conducted by the bishop, who will license the individuals
to minister in the parishes they have been called to serve. 

Readers are trained and licensed lay ministers in the Church of England authorised in
particular to exercise a ministry of preaching and teaching. They undergo a two year
training course before being admitted to the role, after which they carry out a wide
range of tasks within their parishes and beyond, especially helping others to reflect on
their faith and how it relatesto their daily lives. 

The two new Readers are:

  • Sally-Anne Burdett, who will be licensed to the Bromsgrove Team Ministry 
  • Melissa Beynon, who will be licensed to the United Parish of Stoke Prior, Wychbold
    and Upton Warren together with the Bowbrook Group. 

Canon Sheila Banyard will preach at the service as she steps down as
Warden of Readers after around 14 years in the post. At the end of the
service, thanks will be expressed for all she has done in the role and Canon
Sue Oliver will be welcomed as her successor. 

Please pray for Sally-Anne and Melissa as they begin this new step on their
journey of faith and for Sheila as she steps down from the role of Warden of
Readers and Sue as she takes it on. 

Pershore Deanery – Rural Dean: Susan Renshaw; Lay Chair: Sue Perry 

Diocese of Seychelles (Indian Ocean): Bishop James Wong Yin Song 

Diocese of Salisbury: Bishop Nicholas Holtam
with Bishops Edward Condry (Ramsbury), Karen Gorham (Sherborne)

Diocese of St Asaph (Wales): Bishop Gregory Cameron 

Diocese of Ribe (Denmark): Bishop Elof Westergaard

About Diocese of Worcester - Prayer diary

This message is only visible to admins.
Problem displaying Facebook posts. Backup cache in use.
Click to show error
Error: Error validating access token: The session has been invalidated because the user changed their password or Facebook has changed the session for security reasons. Type: OAuthException